Continuing to Improve


So I am playing catchup again. I realized that with the radiation and medications for the cancer, I was  neglecting the PT for the foot, and was backsliding a bit. On Wednesday last week a friend did some Feldenkrais work on the foot…very interesting. She worked with some wooden lathes and flat pieces of stiff foam, using them against the foot to simulate walking on the floor, but without pressure.

Thursday, my foot felt really unstable. which seemed ok, because somehow, it felt as though it was changing. On Friday, another friend massaged it, and on Saturday I went to Seton Falls Park and the Botanical Gardens in the Bronx and walked for miles! Even more amazingly, on Easter it wasn’t even stiff, so I bicycled around Central Park. OK, so I pushed the bike up most of the hills, but it was still an improvement.

So now, I have re-set my exercises:

  • Balance practice
  • Calf stretches
  • Doming
  • Picking up marbles with my toes
  • Working with resistance bands
  • Stationary bike
  • Stretching the toes and doing strength-developing isometrics.

I will see how long I can keep it up!

No comments yet

What's your experience? Leave a comment, we would love to hear from you!

