It’s Not the Injury that Hurts, It’s the Hospital!


The foot is almost better, but the hospital is still stalking me! Last week, I got a bill for $298 from one of the doctors who treated me in the emergency room! A year and a half later. The hospital doesn’t even exist any more, so I guess its ghost is stalking me!

Fortunately, I found my notes from their original bill (over a year ago), called my insurance and their rep actually called the billing office while I was holding (I didn’t get to hear what he said to them. Too bad.) Anyway, it seems that they should have got paid by the hospital, but didn’t do anything about it until it was too late. He said that I wasn’t responsible for the bill. Period. But it makes one uneasy…how many years after they treat someone can they decide they feel like sending a bill?????

2 comments so far

  1. Laura on

    Good thing you had the original bill, and could find it! Just goes to show how important it is to keep track of things in an orderly fashion.

  2. fractralfoot on

    It is hard when you are stuck on the couch and can’t move around. I got a big expanding envelope and stuck everything in it, so although it wasn’t really organized, at least I had almost all the papers that came in!


What's your experience? Leave a comment, we would love to hear from you!

