Bye-Bye Bloggie, (at least for now)


By now, I think that any normal person would say I am rehabbed. I say I have a long way to go, but it has become increasingly hard to tell what was caused by the initial injury, the cast, and the enforced inactivity, and what is a reaction to the drug Asastrazole. So for the time being, I am letting the blog go, although I will put in the rare entry if something exciting happens, like doing a roll the way I did in the old days, or running a five-mile race!

If you are looking at this because you have a lisfranc injury, and want to leave a comment, please do! I will answer it. Goodness, knows, those of us who have this injury need to encourage each other.

Thank you to those who followed the blog and wrote me encouraging comments!

8 comments so far

  1. Bibi on

    So how about another blog? I love hearing from you!

    • fractralfoot on

      But what could I blog about? Can’t think of a thing! Of course, I could take pictures of the apartment and make hidden object games of them!

  2. Laura on

    Glad to hear you are mostly rehabbed- but sorry to hear, not as good as you could be, being the fabulous person you are.

  3. Phidippides on

    αντίο φίλε μου.

  4. Jen on

    Thanks so much for documenting your recovery! I’m 4 weeks out from surgery, and I’ve already benefited so much from access to your experience. The PT log is really helpful! I’m sad to see you go, though I’m very happy that you’re doing so well!

    • fractralfoot on

      Thanks for your comment! If something really exciting happens, I will write a post. Meanwhile, if anyone comments, I will still answer. Good luck with your recovery….

  5. Roberta Hansen on

    It’s years since your injury and I am benefiting from your blog. I am very encouraged and want to thank you for sharing your experience. I have a lisfranc fracture that occurred on Apr 5, 2013. I am just now coming to realize how long my recovery is going to be. My cast was removed last Thursday and my left calf is 1 1/2″ smaller than my right calf. I am frustrated about that. It seems there must be someway to maintain muscle mass despite the immobility. I am still waiting for permission to bear weight and wish I knew what to do to keep from losing more muscle. Any ideas?

    • fractralfoot on

      Yes! When I was injured, a friend who is a physical therapist told me to try to do exercises with the injured leg…straight leg lifts, side leg lifts, etc. Actually, while I did some, I was pretty much scared to push it, but afterwards I couldn’t understand why I didn’t ask the surgeon if it was OK. The weakness in the injured leg was pretty bad by the time I was given PT, but at this point they have evened out.
      Before you start, though, check with your doctor that it’s OK. There seems to be a huge difference in what one or another surgeon recommends!


What's your experience? Leave a comment, we would love to hear from you!

