Life after Lisfranc can be fun!


A few days ago, I was wishing that some of the Lisfranc bloggers kept writing a bit after the worst was over, and they were resuming their normal lives, or even going beyond what they did before. Then I found that someone had! Other than me, of course. Check out the post One Year After My Final Surgery, Life Is Awesome” by someone who has left the days of injury behind.

16 comments so far

  1. Laura on

    One year after? Seems to me you weren’t better one year after!

  2. fractralfoot on

    No, it took me longer. But this writer is a lot younger, so maybe that’s why his recovery was quicker! And I would be able to hike for hours if it wasn’t for the anastrazole!

  3. Sissie on

    I’m using a cane most of the time. But everything hurts! My foot, which really didn’t bother me much before now hurts everywhere. I found I have arthritis in my knee, which still gets sore. Tell me things are going to get better. I’ve had 12 pt sessions. I’ll see my surgeon this week, I hope he prescribe more. Any else I might ask him? I think I’m getting so tired of this whole thing and my brain just doesn’t want to go there. I am hoping to go back to school and teaching in August. Is it realistic? Can I dodge third graders? Will I have the stamina? Any info would be appreciated.
    Thnks,
    Sissie

    • fractralfoot on

      Hi, Sissie…I know everyone is different, but 12 physical therapy sessions don’t seem that much. If everything hurts, my feeling is that you need more, and the surgeon should certainly prescribe it. He should also be able to give you a guestimate as to whether you will be ready to teach in August. Please don’t give up. It is waaay to soon! I remember that the point at which I started really moving around was so difficult. I stayed on crutches for a long time, so when I went back to work I was still using them, although I was putting weight on the foot. It would get really sore, and I was under orders to keep it up as much as possible. When I told the surgeon that I had to go back to work (after 2 3/4 months) he said:”OK, but you’re not going to like it!”
      And today I bought a pair of real running shoes because I have started a walk/run program. Is it possible for you to swim to build up stamina?
      I don’t know a whole lot about physical therapy, but I do know my therapist had me do “doming” to help strengthen the foot. It is an exercise from Pilates, and seemed to help.
      Anyone else have any suggestions?

  4. Sissie on

    You are so encouraging. Thank you, thank you. I do keep trying to be positive, too much energy wasted being miserable. It’s warmed up enough that I can go swimming. I’m not sure how I’ll get out of the pool — no railing.But I’ll figure something out. I don’t know what doming is, but I plan to look it up. I have been doing leg strengthening exercises as well as stretching my pt assigned me. My ankle motion has come back pretty well, excepted for straight on up and down. It doesn’t measure out well. I’m so glad to hear you are getting running shoes. I’m not a real athletic person, but there are some things I never thought of as being exercise, like hiking, walking, just regular stuff. I still can’t balance on my injured foot for very long, I don’t do stairs (yet), or go out in the rain (too slippery). Will I ever get back to the place were my foot will just be my foot? 🙂
    Your words have been so helpful. I have hope after hearing your story.
    Thanks,
    Sissie

    • fractralfoot on

      I remember that going down stairs came back later for me, too. Balancing on the foot took forever, too. We had a yoga class at work, and I kept losing my balance. It was pretty funny, but frustrating, because I had been able to do all these things before. I also couldn’t sit in seiza, (Japanese style), so my therapist put a folded towel under my ankles, and we slowly made it thinner.

      Hiking is great because boots give so much support. Getting into them can be a problem, though. It took a while before I could get my boots on, but I finally got there.

      Obviously, I haven’t got quite to the point where it’s just my foot, because I still keep the blog going, but one does get to the point where you don’t think about the foot for hours…

  5. Sissie on

    From your keystrokes to God’s ear. I’ll keep with it … what choice do I have?
    Thanks again

    • Nucklehead on

      Hi Sissie. I hope you are doing better. This is the most frustrating injury I have ever faced. A summary of my story is posted here: https://fractralfoot.wordpress.com/2011/06/07/this-is-the-hardest-time-for-recovery/#comments.

      Keep your spirits up. Really try the pool to do your exercises, especially if your have arthritic knee. The water actually makes your joints feel better so you can focus on your therapy. Start with the water level up to your neck. At this point, you are only supporting 10% of your body weight. This is my routine:

      1. Basic walking for five minutes to warm up my muscles.
      2. Stretching – with the same hand as your good foot brace the side of the pool. Then lift up your bad foot and do a front kick. Point your toes foward and hold for 20 seconds. Put your foot down. Do the same but point your toes up. Put your foot down. Do a side kick with your foot flexed such that the bottom of your foot is facing down and your toes facing 90 degrees to your leg.
      3. Walk on the inside of your foot 4 steps – everted ankle. Then walk on the outside of your foot 4 steps – inverted ankle. Continue this 4 step alternation so you do about 3 sets each. Adjust more or less to your comfort.
      4. Walk on your heel four steps. Walk on toes four steps. Do three sets each or adjust to your comfort.

      I have more challenging balance exercises but start by balancing on one foot and hold as long as you can. You can even try some simple yoga balancing exercise on one foot.

      As you become better with any exercise, move to more shallower water.

      When you are done, head over to the whirlpool and do your toe and ankle stretches in the warm water.

      One thing, technique is everything. The exercises are aimed to give you mobility, strength and joint awareness. If you are really stiff, then stretching is most important. Try to visualize the tendons on the top and bottom of the foot/toes that you are trying to stretch. For your toes, you can try a bit of traction, which means use your hands to pull them out of the socket then stretch.

      One way to reduce the swelling is using the stationary bike. The only way your body can reduce the swelling is through your veins and these only work well through muscle contraction. Think of a flexible tube holding water and you are moving the water up by squeezing it then pushing up. Try biking before your pool therapy. Start at 10 minutes then work your way up to 30 minutes by adding 2 minutes a day. Adjust the resistance so you feel like you are working but not necessarily straining. You can also wear a graduated compression sock during your exercise or even as normal wear.

      I really hope these exercises will help you. Stay positive.

      • fractralfoot on

        I love the pool exercise and the stationary bike to reduce swelling! I remember the surgeon and PT person telling me the foot would stop turning purple when I started walking again. It was really hard to believe, because it looked so awful. Later, I found out they were right, but the stationary bike would have made it happen sooner, I think. (A friend brought me a wind trainer, and we put an old bike on it, so I didn’t have to spring for a stationary bike) In the next few weeks, the big old bike is going back to my sister’s house, so it will stop monopolizing the living room!

        Thank you for giving us these!

  6. Sissie on

    Thank you so much for the info Knucklehead. I look forward to starting them later today. I’m so glad to hear people with a plan to make things better. I hate when I get whiny. Thanks again

  7. Joseph Lee on

    Dear Chase and everybody,

    Here is another story of full recovery from Lisfranc with pictures.

    Thanks for keep up this great blog to spread good news about life after Lisfranc. I was one of those who turned to the internet for the potential future outcome, only to find mostly gloom and doom stories. I got really scared for a little while.

    A few days later I found one blog at the Runner’s World talking about life after Lisfranc keep a positive story for up to two years after the injury. I was encouraged by it. I posted quite a few posts there detailing the detailed process of my own recovery from one of the most severe cases of Lisfranc (5 dislocated and 4 fractured metatarsals). I also posted my own X-rays.

    I’m less than one year post injury and surgery (injured on Nov 7 2010 and had surgery the next day). I’m fully functional now, having skied many times in late April (barely half a year after injury) and started running 3 km recently. I have been running for 3 consecutive days in the past three days for 3 km without feeling any pain/discomfort.

    Please check out my posts at the following site:

    http://www.runnersworld.com/community/forums/injury-prevention/injuries/life-after-lisfranc-fracture

    All best wishes,

    Joseph

    • fractralfoot on

      Thanks for posting this link. I will have to put it into my blog roll. It’s good to hear another success story!

  8. Joseph Lee on

    Nothing to do with age. I’m not young although I do not really want to real my age here.

  9. fractralfoot on

    I’m with you all the way on that, Joseph. I’m not young either, and throughout the blog, I’ve managed to avoid disclosing my age. Maybe I should have a post “geriatric lisfrancs!” Not that I’m that old, but it sounds good!

  10. Emma on

    Hi there I’m stil writing my blog over 2 years on from my original injury. Life is finally getting better although my recovery is still ongoing. Please take the time to check out my progress if you want to at http://lisfranci.blogspot.co.uk/ 🙂

    • fractralfoot on

      Hi, Emma…it’s great to hear another success story! There was way to much gloom and doom when I got my injury. My foot is so much of a non-issue that there just doesn’t seem anything to write, thank goodness! Maybe I’ll get around to doing an update, too!


What's your experience? Leave a comment, we would love to hear from you!

