A trip to Montauk


It’s been a while since I posted…a lot has happened and I’ve been so busy! Today I am at a friend’s house at Montauk for the 4th of July weekend–the same friend who had me out here when I was still on crutches. It is so great to be able to walk, not crawl up the stairs and to go and walk on the beach. It’s still a bit cold for swimming, so I probably won’t end up in the water, but just walking along the beach is nice. During the day it’s crowded, but at night it is almost deserted, with fires every now and then, lit by people barbequing on the beach.

On July 4th, there was a really nice, small fireworks display which we watched from the balcony of the house. I didn’t get a picture of the fireworks, but here are the men setting up the display that morning. It was interesting to see how it was done. (You can click on the picture to get a bigger version.)

I got a picture of a new butterfly (for me). I think it’s an American Copper. There were a lot of them flying in the dunes.

3 comments so far

  1. Laura on

    Nice. It’s good to visit somewhere and appreciate the improvements you’ve made.

  2. Sissie on

    I’m glad to hear you’re doing so well. For the first time in ages, I had friends over to swim and barbecue. I was able to walk a little and swim. The next day I ached all over and was exhausted. But the feeling of contentment was priceless.

    • fractralfoot on

      Way to go, Sissie. Let the friends help when they come over! Isn’t swimming wonderful when your mobility is down! I am so glad that you were able to do this. It makes such a difference…Chris


What's your experience? Leave a comment, we would love to hear from you!

