Another Success Story!


For those who are feeling down: On a whim I checked out Joan Sucks to see if there was any news and found her last post. Happiness and joy, another Lisfranc recovery success story! Here’s the link to her last post:
Joan Sucks final entry!

It would be nice if anyone following this blog makes a final comment when they are happily recovered, (or even not so happily, though I hope that doesn’t happen). That way, other sufferers have something to look forward to!

Later: there’s another positive story in the comments to this post..Way to go! Thank you for posting it, Brokeagain

Even Later: I just found a blog I had missed, Lisfranc and Me, that goes all the way to successful recovery, so I’ve put it on the blog roll. The last entry was May 2010, but she has a really good record of the process.

30 comments so far

  1. brokenagain on

    I also want to give a word of encouragement and hope to those who are dealing with their lisfranc injuries. These blogs really helped me get through. i am 11 mos into my recovery and it is going well. I had 10 dislocated fractures on three bones I not require surgury. My injury happened last Aug 14 while crossing a street. I tripped and turned my ankle and that was all she wrote. I remember how horribly depressed I was during the ordeal. The lisfranc was not diagnosed for 2 weeks so I thought I was dealing with a severe ankle sprain.

    I was non weight bearing for 10 weeks, 4 weeks in a boot, and then used a cane for about a month. I used a knee walker to get around my house and had to rent a car to drive to my job because my car is a stick shift (note to self.never buy manual car again). Vons home delivery service proved to be a lifesaver for me.

    The road back was so painfully slow going. My biggest concern was whether I would be able to play tennis again. That is my passion. I am happy to say that I have on the court several times and even played some singles sets. I will never forget what it was like to be so immobile and in such pain and so depressed wondering if I will ever be my old self again. The doctor and physical therapist kept telling me that i would be able to resume normal activities at some point and the patience and physical therapy were key.

    I have been looking at some of my early journal entries from. Maybe I will post some because I know that I relied on seeing other people experiences:

    -one day in feb – walked one block!!
    -thrilled to be able to do my own grocery shopping… who knew that a grocery cart is helpful for balance
    -my therapist ‘written’ instructions: put one foot in front of the other… heel first, then push off toes.. turns out I really ‘forgot’ how to walk!

    • Sissie on

      A friend explained how to use the shopping carts. I was thrilled with my first solo trip to the market.
      Eleven months and tennis — that is encouraging! I’m happy for you. And it puts a positive spin on my recovery.
      Thanks

      • fractralfoot on

        Hi Sissie, that;s a great comment. I assume you are talking about using a shopping cart as a walker.. (Correct me if I am wrong.) It didn’t occur to me because I live in a walkup apartment, but in the city we often see old ladies with an empty four-wheel shopping cart with a big old phone book in the bottom for ballast. They use them as walkers all the time. Lot cheaper than a “real” walker…

  2. Nucklehead on

    Hi brokenagain,

    Welcome and thank-you for your story. It is very encouraging. To be able to play tennis – wow. Tomorrow will be the start of my 11th week.

    Yesterday, I went to a company meet and greet and I had to stand and talk to customers for almost three hours. I was tired and my foot was a bit sore, but I survived it.

    Today, I attended a conference my company was holding. I had to walk about 3 blocks to get from my parking spot to the conference center. I brought one crutch in case I got tired, but I hardly put any weight on it. I survived it.

    I was a bit depressed today because although I was able was to walk to my conference, the downtown pedestrian traffic was quite fast People were zooming by, and naturally I tried to keep pace but couldn’t. I became really discouraged.

    You have no idea how uplifting it is to hear a story like yours. I was feeling down tonight, but your story made me feel a whole lot better.

    • brokenagain on

      I remember saying a few months back to my PT that I don’t think I will ever be able to walk again without pain. She kept telling me that one day I will be at a point where I don’t even remember it happened. I am happy to say she was correct about that. Good luck with your recovery and remember it WILL improve but it takes time.

      • Nucklehead on

        Hey brokenagain. This is so weird. Just earlier today, I told my wife that I am really scared that I would always have to cope with walking with pain. We just came back from sisters house for dinner. All she and her friends could talk about was vacationing in Hawaii, Disneyland, blah, blah. All I could think about while they were talking was if I could ever take my kids to those places and do the same activities. It’s weird how paranoid and fragile you feel when you are recovering from surgery. Your words mean a lot. Thank you.

      • fractralfoot on

        Hi, Knucklehead, do you have short-term and long-term goals? I found them very useful to focus on when I was recovering. Helped me see the progress and remain positive, which was sometimes a challange! I can’t remember what most of them were, other than being able to sit with my feet under me. (We used folded towels to support the ankle and kept track of the number of towels we needed as the support got less and less.) Balancing on the injured foot for 2 seconds might be one (then three seconds, four seconds, etc.) My PT person was very clever at coming up with goals if I couldn’t.
        Being able to levitate might be a nice long-term goal. Your kids would probably love it! No, I’m not nuts,,,there are several videos on how magicians appear to levitate, and it’s a challenge if you use the once-injured foot for support, but it’s doable. Here’s a link: How to Levitate.

      • Sissie on

        I needed to hear that. It seems like my foot is always hurting lately. I’m doing some volunteering this week. I hope I can tough it out. I look forward to walking again without pain.

      • fractralfoot on

        It’s good to hear you’re just plowing on, Sissie…tell us how the volunteer work goes. My foot hurt more when I started asking more of it, too!

      • Nucklehead on

        Hey Sissie,

        Hang in there. A few nights ago, I got so frustrated with hobbling, that I ran up the steps to my back door. It was about 8 steps. I felt a some pain afterwards and then totally regretted my testosterone-filled, idiotic part of my decision making process. I rested it for a three days doing nothing but riding the bike and upper body exercises. Thankfully, my foot is feeling better, albeit, I still feel some pain with every step – nothing different from before. Lesson learned – be patient, don’t push it, slow and steady. Others have recovered, we can too. Here is another success story I found.

        http://lisfrancandme.blogspot.com/

  3. Nucklehead on

    Hi Fractalfoot. Thank you for your advice. I have set some short term goals and long term goals, although, I have given up on setting a timeline for them. I had originally thought that I would be fully recovered after 12 weeks, but that was totally unrealistic.

    I have seen a lot of positive gains in the last four weeks in my short term goals since I started weight bearing. I am able to walk without my crutches, stand on my toes with two feet, remove my ankle brace, and balance on my bad foot for almost as long as my good foot. I can also do little two foot jumps (and land) on the half exercise ball. I’ve regained probably 80% of my mobility and strength in my ankle and toes.

    My long term goals of being able to run and jump and do all the athletic things I used to be able to do seems to be far away still.

    My weakest personality trait really is to stay positive. Usually at the end of the day right before I sleep, my foot is exhausted and I feel the pains associated with the workouts. My mind then wanders to the negatives “what if I don’t get better…” and I spiral down into a viscous cycle. I am working on it (hence the needed support on blogs such as this one, which really help by the way).

    Everybody (wife, surgeon and all my PTs) say I will recover. I just need to believe them, but it’s very difficult when you wake up and feel different foot pains everyday, Hopefully, people going through a similar experience wil read this and know they are not alone.

    • fractralfoot on

      You really are doing amazingly! I do understand about the worry and the uncertainty! I d suggested continuing with the short-term goals, because I think it helps as the recovery starts dealing with smaller and smaller improvements. I remember my surgeon told me i would be able to walk when the cast came off. It was total bs! When the cast finally came off, I wasn’t even allowed to put weight on it for an additional two weeks! At the end if twelve weeks I was still using crutches, and when they threw me off PT, probably in November, I still couldn’t run. However, I think the slow recovery paid off in the long run because everything got strengthened. So keep your spirits up! Chris

      • Nucklehead on

        Thanks for the words of encouragement. I read your story and you definitely had it rough. I am happy you got through it. I am lucky to be in Canada and not have to deal with the slimy insurance companies.

  4. Sissie on

    You guys are terrific! Thanks for sharing, it gives me hope of a more “normal” future. Sometimes the road is long….really long. So I’m setting short term goals. Just looking for that fine line of balancing what I can do without causing pain.

  5. Nucklehead on

    Another success story I found. This time from a New Zealand Olympic athlete who will recover and compete in the 2012 Heptathlon. She treated her injury with such a casual and positive attitude, as if it were just another roadblock to her goals. Great attitude.

    http://www.rebeccawardell.com/2010/11/surgery.html

    • fractralfoot on

      I am impressed! How did you find her blog?

      • Nucklehead on

        I found it just by sheer luck. I was looking for information about whether or not to remove the screws for a Lisfranc that was treated with ORIF. If you have any info related to that topic, please share.

      • fractralfoot on

        All I know is that my doctor said he didn’t like taking out the screws, so they are still in. Anyone else?
        However, now I know the acronym, I found a few interesting sites about treatment, which I have added to the blog.

    • Rebecca on

      Hi, thanks for sharing my story on here. I am now 4 weeks post op for having the screws removed from my foot. The foot feels pretty good – more comfortable than with the screws in for sure!
      The surgeon never discussed with me re leaving the screws in…it was always part of the plan to take them out. Maybe different surgeons have different opinions about screws out/in or maybe different cases warrant different outcomes?
      I can certainly ask my surgeon why he took them out if someone is interested?
      For now I am in a bit of pain in my big toe joint (both now and during the time I had the screws in), but my physio says this is due to the biomechanics of my foot being different for the 9 months I had the screws in – the big toe joint was loaded more.
      But apart from that feeling good and just trying to strengthen the small muscles in my foot that became lazy and went to sleep whilst screws did the work stabilising my foot!
      Rebecca

      • fractralfoot on

        Hi Rebecca, it’s nice to hear from you! I would be very interested to know your surgeon’s opinion on hardware removal or non-removal! As you can see from my blog, I use my feet at lot…mostly barefoot. The hardest things for me were learning to do forward and backward rolls again, because a fair amount of toe flexibility is needed, and sitting on the ground with toes tucked under because I lost flexibility in both feet during my enforced idleness. I expect you will have an easier time because I gather you have been doing exercises all this time!
        It will be really interesting to hear about your physical therapy, if you feel like sharing it with us. And best wishes for 1012. I think we will all be rooting for you!

      • Sissie on

        I was told I would have my hardware taken out this July. But my fracture ended up being worse than expected. I’ve got two plates and 8 screws. Another lady has the same hardware as me and our doc told us that unless there were screws loose, the stuff stays. I’m glad he isn’t looking into my head 🙂 Glad to hear things are going your way.

      • fractralfoot on

        I love your post, Sissie. I feel the same way! Too bad they can’t crazy-glue my brains together!

  6. Nucklehead on

    Hi Rebecca. Many thanks for responding. It would be great to hear what your surgeon says. Also, please keep all of us updated. Success stories are more than welcomed. My surgeon told me if they become symptomatic, then he takes them out. I’ve read that for athletic individuals, the screws come out to give you more mobility in the joint and also to prevent breakage. I am just a weekend hack, not a world class Olympic athlete :), so the decision is probably not as easy as yours. I will post more on your blog. Cheers.

  7. Jill on

    I wanted to leave my story as another story of hope since there is so much to scare you online when you have a Lisfranc injury. I broke my 2nd, 3rd, and 4th metatarsals and had an avulsion fracture of my medial cuneiform from my ligament being ripped off the bone. I had six x-rays and a CT scan that confirmed a Lisfranc injury with some displacement but less than the 2mm standard that calls for surgery. My orthopedic surgeon kept me off my foot for six weeks. I was religious in keeping off my foot and treating it well with cold and warm compresses and light massages. I am now walking again for the first time in six weeks. I will be in my boot for another month as I transition into shoes. Yes, this is a very serious injury but do as your doctor tells you, eat well, get lots of sleep, take vitamins (I took Osteo Bi-Flex), and try to stay positive. You will get better. You will walk again. You will gain your independence back.

    • fractralfoot on

      Thanks, Jill. So often, when someone comments, I learn something. I didn’t know about the 2mm standard. It may help someone who is making a decision about surgery. We are getting quite a collection of success stories!

  8. Lynnie on

    Hi Everyone
    I’m just past week 3 post surgery for a displaced lisfranc fracture with various injuries to the 2nd, 3rd and 4th requiring 12 screws, 2 plates and bone fusion in each place. The original injury was caused by a twisting fall down a set of stairs in the backyard on June 13, 2010. I injured both feet and the first x-rays noted a broken metatarsal in each foot. The ER Doctor said I sprained both feet; gave me crutches and sent me back to work. It was difficult getting around and 3 days later, I tripped down the stairs on the crutches and landed directly on the worse foot. (It seared with pain!) I went back to my regular GP and she sent me for x-rays. Long story short, I ended up in a robo-boot on the left foot (worse foot) and got along on crutches. The left foot was swollen with deep, dark bruising on the bottom of the foot and it was too painful to sleep. I went back to the Dr. asking if there could be something more than a sprain and she gave me T3’s and said to elevate as much as possible and go to physio at 7-8 weeks. After 6 weeks of physio, the pain only got worse and the swelling continued and putting weight on it was a problem. He sent me back to my GP recommending a bone scan. In October 2010, there was an isotope shortage so it took months before the scan. The results included a referral to an orthopedic surgeon. I was told it would be one year or more before I could even get into the surgeon. My GP, recommended someone in another town close by thinking it would be quicker. I had my first appointment with her in March 2011 where I was told that it was a lisfranc injury needing surgery. The surgeon was pregnant and said that my surgery would probably be happening in August 2011. Unfortunately, that was when her baby was due and the replacement surgeon was unable to do my surgery. I finally had the surgery on January 24, 2012 – one year and 7 months after the injury.

    The post surgery has been difficult but the recovery is not near as long as the struggles of the past 19 months so my spirits are pretty good. (I haven’t been able to take my dog for a walk or go for a jog in that whole time.) I wore a robo-boot two different times (as per the GP and then the surgeon) for 7 weeks each and then walked with a cane for the last while before the surgery. My surgeon has requested 10 weeks off work which seems like a bit long. I feel like my recovery is a bit slow since it’s just over 3 weeks and I’m still not getting around very well and not really able to do too much for myself.

    It feels good to share this with others that have experienced the same type of injury so thank you so much for this blog.

    • fractralfoot on

      OMG, Lynnie, and I thought waiting a week to see a surgeon was too long! I never even tried to put weight on the foot, because my body said “no!” I can’t imagine going around for over a year in that condition.

      I am not really keeping up the blog these days, because the foot is no longer a problem, (though I seem to have arthritis in BOTH ankles now, but I think that’s just age and over use) but I read the comments, as do a few other people, so post whenever you want, and you should get a some replies. By the way, 10 weeks doesn’t seem too long, unfortunately. When I said I had to go back to work after 11 weeks, my doctor said. “Ok, but you won’t like it.” If he (she?) has said to keep it elevated, by the way, the more you do it, the better!

  9. eclecticanela on

    Definitely helps to see words of encouragement from everyone! Reading everyone’s stories and comments on my own have helped me tremendously over my recovery! It is a pretty rare injury and it’s not likely you find somebody in “the real world” going through the same thing…this is where the internet was a life saver! I’m about 5 months post surgery, and life is pretty great. My foot was in horrible condition, I sustained a lisfranc injury for 5 years!! Going from how things were to how they are now is a complete turn around! Stay positive, which can be hard through times like these, but honestly, it’s all we have! Your thoughts can make a huge impact on your physical body. Try to focus on your goals and the progress you are making. Those little milestones can be so meaningful! Whenever you’re able, push yourself through the physical therapy..it may not be an easy road back, but you’re on that road, taking one step at a time…Things will be better again one day! -Believe in that. Keep reading and talking with all the people going through the same thing, it really helps. My blog is on the blog roll as well…Anelaslisfrancjourney… I’d love to talk & hear your story!

  10. debbie smith on

    I had a midfoot sprain just over a year ago. I was told by an orthopedic surgeon that it was fine and ok to walk on it, but I have arthritis now and a mild lump over the arch of my foot. I still cannot walk very far. Got a second opinion and the Dr. did not even do a weight bearing xray, just said it was a sprain of the lisfranc area and said I just need physical therapy. I was never in a cast – is that normal? How can I find a Dr. that is familiar with this or who can explain why I can’t walk more than a block at a time and only on soft surfaces.

    • fractralfoot on

      Oh boy…what a dilemma. Possibly someone who reads this blog will have a better idea than I do. If there is a city near by with professional athletic teams, trying to find the name of their sports medicine doctors might be a way to go? Were you able to go to PT? The therapist might be able to recommend someone, too.
      By the way, I never had a weight-bearing x-ray, either, although it was clear, in my case, that several bones were broken, but I still can’t see from the x-ray where the Lisfranc injury was.


What's your experience? Leave a comment, we would love to hear from you!

