I Made My Goal!


Yesterday I made my goal of run/walk at 5 minutes jog/1 minute walk 10 times. Or maybe 11, because, of course, I lost count, and my method of keeping track didn’t work. I know it was at least 1 hour, though, so it counts. Yes, I could have walked it faster, but that’s not the point! I learned more about pacing…at the end, I actually had something left, so I could run a little bit. I was especially happy because I had to get up at 5 that morning to go to the airport, and when I got home, I took a “nap” and slept all morning! At least I got something done!

I did have a setback. I had planned to do a 5K in mid-October, in Van Cortland Park, but when I looked up the course, it’s a real cross-country, with lots of hills, so I don’t think I will be ready by then. Flat, I can do, but hills wipe me out. Even penguins have pride, and the idea is to run (jog) it, not crawl! Bummer. I was really looking forward to it. But there’s another one in November…

Wish me luck!

12 comments so far

  1. Laura on

    BIG CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You’re a star! It’s not how fast you did it, but that you did it and didn’t quit and kept on trying and DID IT!!! I’m proud of you.

  2. joseph on

    good work Chrissy, keep it up!

  3. mjbentley on

    That is great to hear! Way to go! I am so glad to hear that things keep getting better.

  4. lisfrancenstein on

    GOOD LUCK! Incredible, so good to hear that someone can run after this! Crazy! Also just wanted to tell you that your blog has been a huge inspiration to me, in fact it inspired me to start my own Lisfranc blog – so thank you! 🙂

    • fractralfoot on

      I love your blog name! Why didn’t I think of that? I’ll put it on my blog roll. We’ll keep cheering you and your partner on as you go through the recovery process…I actually have a video of it happening to me, too, but it isn’t nearly as interesting…

  5. Sissie on

    Great job! I’m so happy to hear what you’re doing. Lisfrancenstein is a great name. I sorta felt like my foot looked like the bride of Frankenstein after surgery 🙂

  6. garth webster on

    How did you suffer the injury?

    I did mine 10 years ago. Never had surgery do to misdiagnosis and still have pain 10 years later but am able to run, play tennis etc. That injury was incredibly painful

  7. Garth on

    Not sure if my last you got my last comment.

    I did my foot 10 years ago. Never had surgery due to misdiagnosis. Incredibly painful injury but I am able to run, play tennis etc..you’ll recover fine. Wish I had the surgery

    • fractralfoot on

      Mine happened when my foot got jammed in a mat and then twisted in a martial arts class. At this point, I am pretty much able to do everything that I could do before. You are right, the injury is incredibly painful when it first happens!

  8. Sissie on

    I tripped. Nothing exciting. I am looking forward to not focusing my thinking about my foot, the pain (which is getting more manageable). I’m still using a cane for balance on uneven surfaces and when that occasional out of the blue, cleaver size ice pick pain. Lose my balance then every time that happens. But it is happening fewer times — still in pt, still working on strength building.
    I look at Chris and some of the other lis franc blogger buddies who are on a similar journey. It’s really encouraging to think that I will be going back to doing what I used to be able to enjoy (some of which my doc said he didn’t think so — but he would leave it as a challenge to prove him wrong.) So I keep working at getting things back.

    • fractralfoot on

      Hey, Sissie, keep on trucking! My surgeon put it this way..”.usually you get all the improvement you are going to get within one year…but you might do better than that because you are working on it so much.” It was useful, because it encouraged me to keep working on the foot even when the improvements were almost imperceptible, (but still there!). I used a cane for a long, long time. I think that in the long run, it helped…

  9. Sissie on

    Thanks so much. I will keep at it.


What's your experience? Leave a comment, we would love to hear from you!

