Does Blogging Help Recovery?


I was thinking about my injury and the long recovery period, especially the three months when I actually followed the doctor’s orders and stayed on the couch with my foot elevated about the heart almost 24/7. Looking back, I can’t believe I actually did it…I think I was too drugged up to rebel. Maybe that’s why he kept offering me Oxycodone. I think that the blogging was a truly important part of the recovery, perhaps little-recognized.

  1. It kept my mind active, and gave me a connection with the outside world when getting up and down 4 flights of stairs was really difficult.
  2. It forced me to stay positive…At least, for me, whining in writing just isn’t an option.
  3. It helped me organize and remember what I had to do once I started PT. OK, I could have just kept a private notebook, which I did, but putting it out there meant I HAD to do it!
  4. It gave the experience a bit of a weirdly positive spin. If it helped someone else, maybe it wasn’t totally and completely a waste of my life and time.

I would be interested in what other bloggers feel…was your blogging just something to do, or did it actually help you to get better?

13 comments so far

  1. Laura on

    I think it helped keep the family informed.

  2. flashnomad on

    Interesting post. Before I read the post, I answered ‘no’. Becauseonce you start blogging you become really obsessed with getting hits and comments… And if you don’t get them, it’s a drag. But, its true that any writing is useful for processing trauma… And, also it’s a great way for your friends and family to realize what you are going through … And you don’t have to repeat the same stuff to everyone.

    • fractralfoot on

      True, you can get hung up on the comments…however, when you are stuck at home with the foot in the air, they are also a connection to the outside world. After all, your friends can’t come and visit all day, every day, and the borrowed playstation gets boring…especially when you have only one game! I thought, when I found out I would have to take 10 weeks off, that I would get so much done…but discovered I didn’t have the energy!

  3. Nucklehead on

    At ten weeks, I thought I should have been fully recovered. For the next three months after that, I kept pushing to get better to no avail. Finally, I became more patient and accepted what my foot offered. It’s been eleven months now, and I’ve finally come to peace with this injury. I’m not 100% yet and may never be, but I can sure do a whole lot more than when I was injured. I appreciate things I never did before, and look upon the world with a new perspective.

    For what it’s worth, your blog and the people who contribute to it helped me immensely. The problem with this injury is that on the surface it looks like a standard injury, much like an ankle sprain or a broken arm and the expectation is you will recover. However, it’s much more than that and only people going through it can understand and sympathize.

    Thank you for this blog. A few words of encouragement can be the difference between a really bad day, or a completely hopeless day.

    • fractralfoot on

      I agree…the moment of unbelief when they tell you you have to be off it for three months…and you won’t get full use back…is pretty priceless in the wrong direction! But at eleven months, remember, it isn’t over. You may well be able to continue to improve. You just can’t stop working at it! I find it hard to believe how much I lost in the other foot, just from not using it as much as usual, so I had to rehab ’em both!

  4. Sissie on

    I concur. I found life so difficult, physically and mentally. It was so hard to believe all that I was told and what the research related. This injury was more life changing than I ever imagined. I didn’t even know the questions to ask. Frankly, the information was always so grim I didn’t want to hear it. So for me, reading other Lisfranc bloggers helped. Hearing that other people were healing, working, and getting better, moving back to a new normal. I feel blessed being about to get up and go where I choose. A freedom I never fully appreciated before. I’m able to work, taxi my daughter to and fro, and go to places on my own. But at a much slower pace. I still use a cane in unfamiliar places, or in hilly venues.
    Things are getting better. My doctor said if I bought some “kick a@#” hiking boots, I can hit the trails. Since I’m not acquainted with the KA label, any suggestions?
    This is from the doctor who told me my life was changed forever, and listed all the things I would not be able to do. He is quite pleased with the outcome — me too 🙂
    I think my injury is one of the most severe I’ve seen shared — two plates, eight screws, bone graft/fusion, two removable pins. All this for a shattered joint, three broken metatarsals and three dislocations. I’m still working to strengthen both legs and feet.
    I appreciate all the encouragement I get — every little bit helps.

    • fractralfoot on

      Hey, Sissie, it’s nice to hear you are getting back to a “normal” life after a hellish recovery! I don’t know much about current hiking boots, since I am still using my old leather backpacking boots. I dread them wearing out! I found the backpacking boot’s ankle support very helpful, by the way, because I could go sideways down steep slopes. I also have used Superfoot insoles for years, instead of the ones that came with the boots. They seem to give good arch support.

      I also found that having really good vibram-type soles was a real help, not only of because the grip, but because it made me feel so much more secure.

      For me, it was about a year before my foot went back to more normal size, and I could actually get my boots on!

      I will make a suggestion, though…do lots of research. REI has a nice article about choosing hiking boots, for instance. Then I would go to a outdoors store that has a stony slope that you can try walking down.

      There is so much neat high-tech stuff available now. There may well be something lightweight that will give you all the support you need.
      Anyone else have any suggestions?

      • Sissie on

        Thanks

  5. Sally May on

    Your blog inspired me to blog my expierence. I just started today on blogger.com I don’t know if anyone will read it & I don’t care, to know that its out there makes me feel better.

    • fractralfoot on

      Well, I found your blog, and then lost it again, so if you will send a link, I’ll post it so others can send you good wishes! Let’s hope it’s not what the surgeon fears, but if it is, now is a good time to get the play station set up, the wifi humming, and anything else you need to have a recovery that’s a comfortable as possible…There are lots of suggestions on various people’s sites. Good luck with it, and truly, this too shall pass! If the doctor isn’t sure it’s a Lisfranc injury, maybe that means it isn’t a really, really horrible one, or even just a bad sprain. Hang on in there!
      Chris

  6. sallymay1207 on

    I’m new to this blogging thing so excuse me if I’m a little slow! You’re very nice and those positive words mean more than you know. I believe this is my link

    http://ilovedj2007.blogspot.com

  7. Foredeck wannabee on

    Hi there,

    I’m 14 1/2 months post injury now (not that I’m counting-LOL). I think this is an interesting comment. For me blogging really did help, I really struggled with coming to terms with the whole Lisfranc situation. My blog helped me to get some of my feelings out in a positive way. There were periods when I would internalise a lot of my frustrations & fears, but my commitment to my blog did ‘make’ me write about it. The contact with fellow sufferers at various stages is also quite valuable. I think although our family & friends do all that they can to support us, no-one quite get’s it like a fellow sufferer.
    I also had additional complicated fractures as well as my Lisfranc dislocation & my recovery has been far from straight forward. It has profoundly affected me & my lifestyle, but onwards & upwards from now on hopefully 🙂

    • fractralfoot on

      It’s good to hear from you again. I tried to post a comment on your blog but it wouldn’t take. You are really an inspiration, believe it or not (gag, gag) because you are plugging on in the face of obstacles, and getting somewhere, too. It’s helpful in my current plight, having had an operation that was supposed to be an easy fix for my knee, and finding it’s far worse than they told me. Keep on trucking!


Comments are closed.

