Happy New Year!!!


I just saw the stats from WordPress and find it hard to believe that there were about 14,000 views this past year, from 107 countries! The review also says, “some of your most popular posts were written before 2014…Consider writing about those topics again….Not on your life if I can help it!

So just a little update. Early this year I probably stop taking anastrazole (for breast cancer), which means I pass the 5-year period. I can’t wait to see if some of the side effects, admittedly mild judging by what some people report, but still annoying, go away. I am hoping I can regain some of my lost strength, for example.I also had some “minor” knee surgery a few years ago that turned out to be a mistake…but I seem to have finally got beyond it. I started race-walking as I couldn’t seem to be able to jog, but now, even though I can run again, I think I will stick with the walking!

So everything is pretty good. Oh yes, the famous foot…well, since the humungous screw is still in there, it has a bump where the screw head is, and occasionally I can feel it, the foot is still fine. And I will continue to check the blog to see if anyone new has posted a comment…Anyone out there who has recovered, but is still following….how are you guys doing?

So Happy New Year!!!!

7 comments so far

  1. Polly on

    A happy posting. I hope you continue to get stronger and better, although you’re pretty fabulous already.

  2. estherrosew on

    Happy new year ☺️i get notifications when you post and is nice to see you are still doing well..
    Im coming up 3 years since injury, lately ive been feeling a bit of nerve pain across my toes, but compression seems to help, and thats the worst of it so cant really complain. Shoes still frustrate me especially in summer, my foot still swells quite a bit and have a bit lump where the bulk of my fractures were on the bridge of my foot. Most sandals the strap ends wont meet…:/
    Walking is my choice too! but admit last year i have been a bit lazy.. This year my aim is to clock up 1000km of walking, and am keen to pick up another sports too depending on what my foot can handle. Looking forwards to a new challenge! Here’s to a good year ahead!

    • fractralfoot on

      Compression seems to be the duct tape of first aid. There’s almost nothing you can’t use it for! Good luck in continuing to get better. and finding another sport!

  3. arkansasbaby on

    Hiya! I have a lisfranc injury also and have been in a cast these past few weeks.

    The midfoot itself doesn’t hurt at all but my ankle seems to be clicking a lot and sometimes (rarely) it is painful. Kind of like how people crack their knuckles but in my ankle.

    I don’t know if this is because of the cast and the restricted movement but I’m not sure it’s a big enough deal to bother the doctor about.

    Did anything like that happen when you were in a cast?

    Thank you in advance!

    • fractralfoot on

      No, that was one thing I didn’t experience! But I do think that anything about the foot that concerns you is worth bothering the doctor about, and certainly tell the therapist once you do PT. Actually, my ankle sometimes clicks when I sit “Japanese style.” but I think it would probably do it anyway…Good luck with your recovery!

  4. Victoria on

    Hi All, I received a late diagnosis of a lisfranc fracture, my surgeon wants to operate, but it is just a little more than 6 weeks and I read the results are not good when the operation takes place late. Is their anyone who also had this problem? Please advise.

    • fractralfoot on

      Hi Victoria..I don’t have any experience with that issue. Hopefully someone else has and will answer. However, this blog has been very quiet for the last six months. Did you also post on the lisfrans Facebook page? It may be more current….


Comments are closed.

